2014 YA & Kids competition winners

Winners of the YA Category*:

  • 1st Place – Kaya Oosthuizen, Pheonix
  • 2nd Place – Carla Lott, Megeni Kutua
  • 3rd Place – Lesego Pulamoeng, Patiko and Pajoko

Thank you to all the YA writers for your patience.

Winners of 10-13 Category:

  • Léanna B, The Magic Gorah
  • Bianca M, The Sparkly Dragon of Drakensberg
  • Kiera H, No Ordinary Rock

Winners of the 9 & Under Category:

  • Kyra Z, Our Time Traveling Parents are Gone!
  • Samuel H, Sir Alfred and the Golden Arrow
  • Tara DP, The Pig that had no Ears

Well done to all the writers who entered this year. Reminder: If you entered and didn’t meet your writing goal, don’t despair. You write by reading and writing and reading and writing… over and over again. Writers are people who don’t give up.

Huge thanks our judges for all their hard work: Lauri Kubuitsile, Dorothy Dyer, Beatrice Lamwaka, Elizabeth Wood, Sean Fraser, Kathryn Torres, Lauren Beukes, Bwesigye Mwesigire & Yewande Omotoso.

Many thanks to all our sponsors!